Student Profile

Albertina Mahumane

Albertina Mahumane

Sponsored By: SASOL

Location:Industrial & Commerical Institute Matola, Mozambique

Quick Fire Questions

Favourite film/TV Programme
O Perigrino
Favourite colour
Blue
Favourite school subject
Chemistry
Favourite childhood toy
Doll
You’ve just won the lottery, what’s the first thing you will buy?
A better house for me and my family, and a very nice car.
Where in Mozambique did you grow up?
I grew up in Matola, in Mozambique, with my dad who was a warehouse manager, and my mum who was a house worker. I have one brother, Lito, he is the youngest and is a student. I have three elder sisters than me however one passed away in August last year.
What’s your most memorable childhood memory?
My best memories from my childhood are dancing; I used to stop every family parties when I danced, I remember that twice I received gifts because of that!
Who is your favourite music artist?
I appreciate Kizomba, a musical genre and dance style originating in Angola, and for me any artist who makes a very nice music I like on that moment. I like so much to listen music and it is good to listen different types and different artists. I confess that there are some Hip Pop songs that I like, for me that type of music is interesting.

“I am constantly learning, I am changing my thoughts and now I am working in order to succeed in my goals. I bring what I study to my daily life. I will become a great female leader and change experiences with people who inspire me to.”

What would you like to be doing in 5 years time?
In 5 years I would like to be skilled and very competent, to grow in my career and become very good in industry jobs. I would not like to stop learning because I like new experiences. That is why I dream in starting a small business or company in which some fellows could be employed.
I hope that Field Ready Program will leverage my career, that I will learn and become better than I am now.
I would also like to improve my English. Sometimes I have some difficulty in understanding. But with practice on Field Ready’s programme I will improve it.
What or who is your biggest inspiration?
My biggest inspiration is my neighbour, Glória Quive, She was born with a health problem which was very difficult and expensive to cure while her parents did not have money. By a miracle she was cured and few days after her parents died leaving her still a child with her younger sister.
She faced problems to study, at school people used to laugh at her but she never gave up. Some family members tried to help her but they could not do many things.
She finished her studies and started to work. Today she works and has a business and projects, and she can help her sister without problems.
What is your biggest achievement to date?
My greatest achievement so far is to get on this program. At my home until now I am the only one who completed a technical degree. My late sister was studying at Eduardo Mondlane University where she was almost to complete a degree.
I am proud that I stopped depending completely on my parents. Some expenses of school I could pay by myself because I gave tutoring of primary school subjects and first level of English while I was still 18 years old.